Irises in stem and seed stitch

Irises in stem and seed stitch

I was recently commissioned to make an embroidered wall hanging – the mission, once I chose to accept it, was “a smallish wall-hanging embroidered with suffragette theme/colours/design and the words “We Were There” (a song by Sandra Kerr, for whom this embroidery was to be a gift)”. So, after further thought, and discussion with the commissioner (customer?), it ended up like this:

Ready for hanging

Ready for hanging

It is approximately 35cm high, and I’m putting it here in the hope that somebody will see and and say “Hey, *I* would like a customised embroidery too!” – and if that is so, please do get in touch!  I will always send sketches first, and won’t start any work until you’re are 100% happy with the design.

And because it’s a great one, here’s the song that inspired it:

